Home>Efficient Maintenance>Events>Overall winner at MEETA Awards
Home>Handbooks>Manufacturing Matters Ireland>Overall winner at MEETA Awards

Overall winner at MEETA Awards

09 December 2014

Hollister ULC, manufacturer of medical supplies based in Ballina, has been named overall winner at the 30th annual National Maintenance and Asset Management Awards (MEETA) which are organised by the Engineers Ireland MEETA Society.


The awards, which are sponsored by PMI Software and the Health & Safety Authority, highlight and reward the ingenuity shown by those in maintenance and asset management in providing value to their companies.

The Hollister entry entitled ‘Laser cutting of polyurethane films for medical devices’ demonstrated the organisation’s success in achieving improvements in the allocation of maintenance resources, manufacturing output and overall equipment effectiveness by enhancing the seal and cut mechanical process. 

Commenting on this year’s awards, director general of Engineers Ireland, John Power, said: "These awards recognise the skilled professionals working in the area of maintenance and asset management who are making valuable contributions to their organisations and the engineering profession. The range of entries in the 2014 MEETA Awards exemplify the outstanding quality of Irish engineers and technicians and I wish to congratulate all those who won.”

Other winners included Allergen which received the award for Overall Maintenance Health And Safety for the entry ‘Posters and charts on walls achieve nothing, it’s people who get things done’’; Rottapharm won the Management Award for ‘Putting innovation at the heart of maintenance strategy’ and Bristol-Myers Squibb was presented the Technology Award for its entry ‘Introduction of an electronic calibration system’.

David Pender from Dublin Institute of Technology, Bolton Street received the 2014 MEETA Student Award, sponsored by ESS Ltd, for his project on ‘A feasibility study into the use of condition based maintenance on rail vehicle doors'. In addition to the awards, Certificates of Maintenance Excellence were presented to Damien McAuliffe from Cork Institute of Technology and Patrick Murphy from Dublin Institute of Technology.